*

novellique

  • *
  • Fresh Petal
  • 17 0
    • View Profile
opinions on LASIK
« on: July 23, 2015, 05:00:31 pm »
almost everyone i know somehow have good eyesight so i don't have much info..

what i know so far is shingawa and hospital seem popular. do the different clinics really matter? anyone have good or bad experiences to share? or maybe an alternative place?

my optician friend says that once you grow older, sometimes your degree will start to fall... but its not happening for me  :(

*

brightblueflower

  • **
  • Junior Petal
  • 51 1
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 10:00:17 pm »
I did mine at Shinagawa and it was a pleasant experience. Doctor seemed quite thorough with the check to see if I was suitable for the op and I don't have any significant side-effects even now.

I also got a discount then for using a specific CC, but I can't rmb which one liao.

*

goldsilvercity

  • **
  • Junior Petal
  • 81 1
  • A gold and silver bullion bars and coin shop
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2015, 12:09:53 am »
i did mine at Singapore Eye centre, a public hospital.
they have the latest tech and machines, and the operation is not as cheap as those in private hospital, but i think i prefer to pay a little bit more for the latest.

so far so good. i have not had the halo effect that some had as side effects.
and its every penny well spent

*

novellique

  • *
  • Fresh Petal
  • 17 0
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2015, 12:22:53 am »
i did mine at Singapore Eye centre, a public hospital.
they have the latest tech and machines, and the operation is not as cheap as those in private hospital, but i think i prefer to pay a little bit more for the latest.

so far so good. i have not had the halo effect that some had as side effects.
and its every penny well spent

i was expecting private to be more expensive


*

Chocberry

  • **
  • Junior Petal
  • 101 5
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2015, 02:30:22 pm »
I did my LASIK at shinagawa at least 5 years back. The procedure was relatively painless and quick. Think I suffer from night blindness cuz of LASIK but I has astig anyway.

Never regretted doing it cuz it is really much easier to do everything without specs! Can go travel, no need to look for spectacles every morning, and can exercise without specs slipping.

Earlier you do the better, the effects ca last longer!

*

alexlee

  • *
  • Fresh Petal
  • 13 2
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2015, 09:09:43 am »
I did mine at National Eye Centre too. Cost around $3k+ while those private ones like shinagawa costs around $2k+.

Never had a problem with my Lasik while a friend who went private had to go back for a corrective procedure.

*

~老婆餅~

  • ***
  • Petal
  • 650 1
  • 1 for $2, special price 5 for $20
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2015, 06:57:15 pm »
Personally I feel that if you have the spare cash it is worth it. I mean spectacles and contact lenses aren't exactly cheap anyways, not to mention the added convenience of going free.

Just remember to have someone to accompany you to do the procedure so that the person can help to escort you to take a taxi back home safely.
~I come here in peace~ *holds up white flag*

*

dloreangel

  • ***
  • Petal
  • 305 9
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2015, 10:03:12 pm »
Personally I feel that if you have the spare cash it is worth it. I mean spectacles and contact lenses aren't exactly cheap anyways, not to mention the added convenience of going free.

Just remember to have someone to accompany you to do the procedure so that the person can help to escort you to take a taxi back home safely.

specs $300 a pair... if u change at least once every 2 years, thats at least $1500 for a decade  8)
Loving life here!

*

Wu Mei Niang

  • **
  • Junior Petal
  • 138 1
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2015, 10:35:55 pm »
Personally I feel that if you have the spare cash it is worth it. I mean spectacles and contact lenses aren't exactly cheap anyways, not to mention the added convenience of going free.

Just remember to have someone to accompany you to do the procedure so that the person can help to escort you to take a taxi back home safely.


I heard that do it too young, you will get short sighted back in a few years back

*

~老婆餅~

  • ***
  • Petal
  • 650 1
  • 1 for $2, special price 5 for $20
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2015, 02:28:30 am »
I heard that do it too young, you will get short sighted back in a few years back

Pretty sure most of us here are like above 21 liao should be mature enough (physically) to undergo the op liao
~I come here in peace~ *holds up white flag*

*

darkjenn

  • *
  • Fresh Petal
  • 32 -3
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2015, 08:50:58 am »
there is a risk of course. people i know that went complain of dry eyes now.

*

Chocberry

  • **
  • Junior Petal
  • 101 5
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2015, 09:32:37 am »
there is a risk of course. people i know that went complain of dry eyes now.

Don't want to jinx myself but my eyes are not dry after surgery. Maybe 5 years already?

*

darkjenn

  • *
  • Fresh Petal
  • 32 -3
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2015, 10:05:24 am »
Don't want to jinx myself but my eyes are not dry after surgery. Maybe 5 years already?

depends on luck i guess. but it's still a risk factor.

*

judygal

  • *
  • Fresh Petal
  • 31 2
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2015, 05:45:12 am »
i was expecting private to be more expensive

Funny,  isn't it? 

*

nomnom

  • ****
  • Senior Petal
  • 1397 10
    • View Profile
Re: opinions on LASIK
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2015, 03:04:17 pm »
If you are planning to go for Lasik surgery, please bear in mind that you will need a pair of reading glasses after the age of 40 years old.
Please also remember to get a copy of your pre-lasik corneal measurements from your surgeons because when you reach 60 years old onwards, you will have cataracts and the surgeons will need a copy of the pre-lasik corneal measurements when you go for your cataract operations.